additional links


Prof. Irena Knezevic
Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Wisconsin - Madison
1415 Engineering Dr
Madison, WI 53706
knezevic at



September 2017:
From left: Song, Sina, Amirhossein, Farhad, Michelle, Suraj, Irena

Summer 2017:
Farhad received an Early Career Scientist Award for this paper “Linear and nonlinear optical response of graphene nanoribbons” at EDISON 20 (The 20th International Conference on Electron Dynamics in Semiconductors, Optoelectronics and Nanostructures ) held in Buffalo, NY.

July 2016: From left: Irena, Jason, Oli, Song, Farhad, Amirhossin, Sina, Leon.

May 2016: Leon Maurer received two Department of Physics Awards: the 2016 Van Vleck Award and the Spring 2015 Best TA Award. Congratulations, Leon!  (More pics here.)

May 2016: Farhad receiving a 2016 Outstanding TA Award from the ECE Dept Chair Prof. John Booske. Congratulation, Farhad!

May 2016: Jason Hsu receiving a 2016 Hilldale Undergraduate Research Fellowship from Chancellor Rebecca Blank. Congratulation, Jason!

May 2015 (before Nishant's and Yanbing's graduation ceremony): From left: Nishant Sule, Olafur Jonasson, Irena Knezevic, Song Mei, Farhad Karimi, Leon Maurer, Amirhossein Davoody, Alex Gabourie, Sina Soleimanikahnoj, Yanbing Shi, Amanda Zuverink

September 2014: Back row, from left: Alex Gabourie, Leon Maurer, Sina Soleimanikahnoj. Middle row, from left: Yanbing Shi, Olafur Jonasson, Nishant Sule, Amirhossein Davoody, Irena Knezevic. Front row, from left: Farhad Karimi, Song Mei, Amanda ZuVerink.

June 2013: Back row, from left: Zlatan Aksamija, Leon Maurer, Nishant Sule, Farhad Karimi, Irena Knezevic. Front row, from left: Olafur Jonasson, Amirhossein Davoody, Yanbing Shi, Song Mei

June 2013: Nishant receiving his Outstanding Student Paper Award from Prof. Chihiro Hamaguchi at IWCE 2013 in Nara, Japan.

August 2012: Library Cafe, relaxing after Bozidar's PhD defense. From left, clockwise: Yanbing Shi, Nishant Sule, Edwin Ramayya, Olafur Jonasson, Amirhossein Davoody, Bozidar Novakovic

August 2012:  (from left, clockwise) Yanbing Shi,Olafur Jonasson, Nishant Sule, Bozidar Novakovic, Irena Knezevic, Edwin Ramayya, Amirhossein Davoody. Missing: Zlatan Aksamija and Leon Maurer

August 2010:  Back row, from left: Zlatan Aksamija, Ken Leedle, Irena Knezevic, Bozidar Novakovic, Nishant Sule, Yanbing Shi, James Endres.  Front row, from left: Edwin Ramayya, Keely Willis, Oleksiy Slobodyan, Mir Asgar, Jie Chen

September 2009: (from left) Edwin Ramayya, Irena Knezevic, Kevin Messer, Zlatan Aksamija, Yanbing Shi, Bozidar Novakovic, Keely Willis, and Jie Chen

March 2008: (from left) Edwin Ramayya, Han Zhou, Suzey Gao, Irena Knezevic, Bozidar Novakovic